Callaway Apex Irons Review Thread

How are these holding up. I have heard that the finish comes off really easily after 10-20 rounds.

No issues here...6 months of golf and a crap load of range sessions

How are these holding up. I have heard that the finish comes off really easily after 10-20 rounds.

Have not had an issue with that at all and I have been using them for 6 months now.

The more I think about it. I think the exact opposite. I have put in so much time on the course and on the range with these and they have held up pretty phenomenal to be frank.

Not a single finish issue with mine since November and I use a copper wire brush to clean them.

The finish on these is superb. I've had them for months and not an issue at all. They are an outstanding set of irons...

I deliberately waited some time to let my first range session with the Apexes from yesterday sink in. First, some context. I've been playing golf for about 6 years and had about that many iron sets to match. Most of those sets have been regular flex. My swing speed numbers are pretty much inline with average LPGA pros, obviously with more variance. I have a slower tempo swing to match. I have been hitting a set of CB3s with KBS 90 stiff shafts. As you can guess from how I described my swing, I was not fit into stiff shafts at my fitting. I was fit into the Apex with KBS Tour V regular hard stepped once.

This shaft is a big difference for me. I think the stiff shaft I was playing hid some of the flaws creeping into my game. I just couldn't load that shaft, so any looseness in my swing was being repressed. That is both good and bad in my mind. I really like the feel of a regular shaft. I like how I can feel the shaft loading. A crisp hit feels soooo good. However, I am having trouble controlling my swing path as well with the new set, particularly on longer irons.