How long did it take you to get "good" at golf?

clidefr0g

Reaction score
Handicap
Im looking for low handicappers here, around 0. How long did it take you to get there? What were the hardest thresholds to overcome?

Ive been playing golf for only about 3 months, My first game out I shot like 117 or something, next game was 101, then 100 101 99, then I took a jump again, to 94, 94, 96, a 40 on 9, then a 92 and I just hit my best last weekend an 86 that could have been a LOT better had my little brother not been annoying the ever living **** out of me.

I know this is a lofty dream, but as I was doing random golf research I came across a clip that essentially said "if you can score an average 72 you could be a millionaire" then went into describing that you could keep pace on the tour with a 72 average, you may never win but you will make a good living playing golf. So obviously that sounds like an attractive goal to shoot for.

Shooting even par on what we do/play is nothing like shooting even par in a PGA Tour event.
The worst player on even the smallest mini tour is still better than a scratch golfer in almost every case.

But good on you for picking up the game, and enjoying it.

Where to start... Golf is hard? If you are young and have all the time in world to devote to getting better, the skys the limit and chase your dream. If you're 30 and just started 3 months ago might need to wait untilt eh senior tour if ever. Either way playing with the pros isnt easy.

Shooting even par on what we do/play is nothing like shooting even par in a PGA Tour event.
The worst player on even the smallest mini tour is still better than a scratch golfer in almost every case.

But good on you for picking up the game, and enjoying it.

This. I played high school golf with a guy that played d1 golf and went on to the mini tours. He said in his first event the winning score was like-23 after the three rounds. It was Zach Johnson.