When do you retire a golf ball?

Hawk

Master Painter
Albatross 2024 Club
Staff member
Reaction score
After the Bridgestone online fitting, I started playing the e5. Prior to that I was playing mostly gift balls. In other words, I'm not used to paying $25-$30 for a dozen balls.

The only complaint that I have about the e5 is that it can get beat up pretty easily. The problem is that I have OCD and really like a brand new, clean ball. I forced myself to scrub the ones I've used in the sink and put them back in my bag. Some of them have cart-path burns, minor shredding from grooves, and some discoloration. I don't think the flight will be impacted, but I'm not sure.

When do you send a ball to the shag-bag?

Good question, mine generally finds water first.

I was going to say the same, when it hits the water ad it is out of reach of my ball retriever or i slice it out of bounds and I cant get to it.

The e5 has a very soft urethane cover (the same as many premium balls), hence the reason you are cutting and scuffing them up. Because of that, you are also goiing to great some great spin and feel. Got with what you think is right, because looks can in fact change some things. If a ball is severely scuffed or has issues with dimple pattern changes, it could in fact change the ball flight and performance.

At the end of my rounds, if I used the same ball the entire round, I sacrifice the ball and no longer use it. Otherwise it is a case by case basis based on appearance.

• Staff
Yeah, the scuffing is definitely worth the performance. Normally, I would quit using it too, but I am feeling sort of cheap right now haha.

My E6's don't really see too much damage. Never played the E5's. Now the Penta's a different story, some day's I'll scuff a ball in a round, but even those generally last me longer than one round.