Corona Virus/COVID19: Local Impact

Status
Not open for further replies.
Your point about these discrepancies was made tonight on a prominent cable news show. It was noted that the death projections were in line with reality, but the hospitalized numbers were overestimated in all but 3 states.

I’m glad that some are starting to pick up on the fallacy of the model that is driving policy decisions.

This whole countermeasure was based on projected hospital capacity, couldn’t overwhelm the system.

Extensive report on treatments.

Thank you for sharing this. I work in the pharma industry, specifically managing investigational products for clinical trials, so this was great for me. Thanks!

One good thing that has come out of this shelter in place is that delivery from all the local stores(grocery, liquor, Costco, Target) is something my wife and I have become so adept at that we will likely not waste much time going to the store ever again. We also have figured out the prescription deliveries from CVS.

It will leave more time for golf or just relaxing at home with a beer waiting for groceries and other essentials to be delivered. I’ll gladly pay the $99 annual fee and tip the driver to not have to go to the store about 3 or 4 times a week. They even deliver to our cabin from the closest grocery store that is 8 miles away so there are some gas savings as well.

Here is like everywhere else. We’re screwed. In the meantime I am planning to play as much golf as I can in addition to other “safe” outdoor activities. Fingers crossed for playable courses starting next week. From what I have read, they will open with standard restrictions: no in person purchases, walking only, no rentals of any kind, eyc. I will be curious to see how they do holes and flags. As long as we don’t have idiots — sigh — we might have some kind of a season.