Shafts: trimming, sleeve installation

#Cookie

Grinder
Reaction score
Handicap
I looked through some older threads but failed to find what I was looking for. With more and more golfers experimenting with different shafts in adjustable heads, I think a "how to" thread could help many.

Besides grips, I am a newbie at club building and am still not sure if I will do the work myself or take to a local shop. Likely will go the local shop route, but still have some questions I would like answered.

Situation:

I have a Cobra Amp head and just ordered a JDL shaft (.335 tip) and the appropriate Cobra Amp adapter sleeve that fits the .335 tip.

The shaft is coming in uncut at 46" and I want it to play at 45".

Questions:

Does the sleeve come into play when determining playing length?
How much would I actually cut off the shaft to get proper playing length?
Is it recommended to butt trim or tip trim? What is the impact from each?

I have my own guesses/thoughts on some of these questions but am approaching this with no assumptions made. What else is there that I am not thinking of?

Cookie you should be able to put the uncut shaft in the adaptor before you trim. Measure from the tip of the adaptor to the length you want. Trim the butt end of the shaft. Do you have a shaft cutter? I use my dremel with diamond attachment when trimming graphite.

Cookie you should be able to put the uncut shaft in the adaptor before you trim. Measure from the tip of the adaptor to the length you want. Trim the butt end of the shaft. Do you have a shaft cutter? I use my dremel with diamond attachment when trimming graphite.

Good info on trimming/measuring the shaft, thanks!

I do not have a shaft cutter or Dremel (did but the wife broke it). I have cut one graphite shaft using my Dewalt grinder with a thin disc and it worked pretty well.