Re: Pain in the butt due to golf?

AMAK

Reaction score
Handicap
Re: Pain in the butt due to golf?

Hey everyone,

I have an embarassing question:

Has anyone ever hurt themselves due to their golf swing? I recently sprained/muscle spasm in my left butt (the gluteus medius to be exact) which is the muscle that is responsible for stabilizing the hip. I am a lefty and I sometimes fall back due to poor weight transfer which may have caused this... (I have no idea, just grasping at straws here)

It's been 2 weeks and I just saw an acupuncturist/message therapist (there is a sports injury clinic near my work) and he said I likely over exerted/overused the muscle due to 3 days in a row of golf with no day off to rest (plus I carry my bag)

It hurts to walk and I've been taking advils for which help but once it wears off, look out....suffice to say no golf for me the last 2 weeks.... :( and this is after the round of my life... (shot 11 over par...which is way better considering on this course I usually shoot 20-25 over)

Anyone ever experience anything similar or am I the only idiot who manages to hurt themselves in such an awkward area?

Thanks

I have often said golf is a pain in the butt, but I've never used the experssion literally, lol.

I have however pulled the muscle riding MX, and it is very painful. I spent about two weeks before I was able to walk normal, and it was 3 weeks before I was back riding. It was a couple months before I got over it being sore after riding.

Good luck.

No but cheek problems for me, but I used to get a sore right hip. Figured out I was driving the cart with my left foot kind of hanging out and the little rail on the side of seat was always digging into my hip.

Good luck with your butt pain. I guess I do have some butt pain. Goes by the name of TC on the forum.

Kevin

I tore rib cartilage swinging too hard and also have a bad left knee from swinging too hard.