Who is/was the most underrated musician in "Rock and Roll"?

I'm guessing either (1) lots of drummers; or (2) lots of 80's music.

For whatever reason, I self-identify as a drummer even though I'm a far better guitarist than drummer. And I'm a mediocre guitarist on a good day.

So is Chad Kroeger, and that didn't stop him!

Man there are so many in my eyes it's not funny but I'll start with a few.

Phil Lynott- Thin Lizzy never got his due as a musician
Tom Petty
Roger Waters - Pink Floyd, a genius
Nuno Betencourt - Extreme incredibly talented beyond speed
Gary Cherone - Extreme, great songwriter and vocalist
Neil Giraldo - Pat Benatar, what can I say great player!

Here are another good ones: Captain Beefheart and Thelonious Monk

In a similar vein, but not quite the same, the first name I thought of when I saw this thread was Howlin' Wolf.

So is Chad Kroeger, and that didn't stop him!

Same with Kurt Cobain. Except Kurt was a brilliant songwriter. My songwriting alternates between blatant Cure ripoffs to blatant Queens of the Stone Age ripoffs.

And if we're going to venture slightly out of Rock 'N Roll, I humbly submit Derek Trucks. Only the greatest slide guitar player alive. Yet, people seem to know him mainly as the husband of Susan Tedeschi or the son of Butch Trucks (a founding member of the Allman Bros.)

Richard Wright in Pink Floyd.

Malcolm Young in AC/DC. His brother gets far more attention, but the band has a completely different sound without Malcolm's tight and aggressive rhythm guitar play.

Kid Rock is a musical savant who is mostly known for his most obnoxious musical output. But he can play nearly any instrument like he's been at it for his whole life.

Digible Planets melded jazz and hip hop in a truly unique and entertaining way before gangsta rap became the predominant genre.