New from Wisconsin

Welcome aboard!

Sent from my Galaxy S II using Tapatalk

welcome to THP!

Welcome to THP.

Hey, I'm fairly new to the golf scene. I have a few friends that golf and I go several times a season with them. I love the sport for the fact of getting out with a few friends and having a good time. Realatively easy to understand, but understandably difficult to master. I want to get more involved with golfing since it's a few of my friends favorite pasttimes - one even works at a local golf course. I was considering becoming a caddy next spring and for the most part confident, only a few thoughts that scare me. I was just wondering if how most golfers feel about having an amature as a caddy or what you would do to shape a new guy into a good caddy. Thanks for the imput!

I would think a nice course would train a new caddie somewhat, you need to know things like what to avoid on a particular shot, the general break of the greens and how to either keep quiet or interact with the golfer depending on what type of personality he/she has. The only caddies I have ever used have been fore caddies whoes primary job is to find the ball and provide a distance to the hole on each shot. They also will assist with reading putts if you ask them. I don't feel that I have known their golfing or caddying experience so I have been happy with every one I have ever had.

Having said all of that let me wish you a warm welcome to THP, I know you are going to enjoy it here.

I just don't want to mess up when people are paying up to $400 a round of golf. I'm sure with time I will get a feel for the course, and know the details I need to know. I just want to be prepared for when I go in there next spring since I don't know a whole lot of golf.

With any job it will take a little time to learn the ropes. Your fellow caddies should help and then as others have said just learn the course. Each golfer will expect different things and you will need to adapt. Good Luck!