Getting started in golf - my journey breaking into the game.

coryf

Reaction score
While searching this forum looking for information pertaining to a beginning golfer, I couldn't find a thread like this. I am brand new to the game and I plan on documenting my journey leading up to my first few rounds of golf. I hope this thread can help someone in the future who want's to break into this game and doesn't know where to start.

I'll start by giving a little information about myself and my experience with golf up to this point. My name is Cory, I'm 26 years old and originally from the Joplin Missouri area. In high school, some friends and I used to go to the local driving range once in a while and hit some balls with borrowed drivers and three woods out of boredom. I've probably hit 200 golf balls in my entire life and haven't launched a ball in over 7 years. Needless to say, I'm about as green as it gets. I've loved golf for as long as I can remember and have wanted to play my entire life. I never had the money growing up to pay for green fees, let alone buy a set of clubs. I'm finally at a place in my life where I'm no longer a ramen noodle everyday, five dollars worth of gas in my car, super broke college student and have the disposable income to get into this game.