Players with natural talent and self-taught swings

Mulligan9111

Go Skers!!
Reaction score
Handicap
Time
So as I was reading through the "Bubba - bad for golf?" thread I got to wondering about naturally talented players with self taught swings a little more.

I ask this because I wonder if these players are so naturally talented that they can teach themselves to excel at arguably one of the hardest sports to excel at, would they be able to excel even further with outside help (second set of eyes)? Or do you think that having a swing coach would hinder these talents by "forming" them into a swing?

What are your thoughts?

When looking at Bubba, you have to wonder if his body will hold up with that swing over the years. As he gets older, some thing will have to change, as the wear and tear on his lower body alone looks like it will be terrible. So, what happens when there is a breakdown and that "self taught" swing doenst do what it used to do?

I think there's always room for improvement.. It's great that he's never had a lesson, but someone somewhere along the line could probably help him, even if it isn't a swing change.

When looking at Bubba, you have to wonder if his body will hold up with that swing over the years. As he gets older, some thing will have to change, as the wear and tear on his lower body alone looks like it will be terrible. So, what happens when there is a breakdown and that "self taught" swing doenst do what it used to do?

He retires and enjoys the heck out of life.

My best guess is that he would have excelled either way, but I agree with WE, something will give and I feel that he will be stranded without help...

I think there's always room for improvement.. It's great that he's never had a lesson, but someone somewhere along the line could probably help him, even if it isn't a swing change.