Iron Reshafting Experience: j33 Irons

Canadan

LGND
Albatross 2024 Club
Staff member
Reaction score
Handicap
Disclaimer: This is my first attempt at reshafting irons... The intention here is to just share my experiences, not as a perfect guide to the reshafting process. There are plenty of incredible videos out there done by PGA Professionals who have been reshafting for years.

The Goal

So I've been talking around the forum about re-shafting my j33's (currently with the Dynamic Gold SL s300 shafts) with a set of KBS Tour Black Nickel X flex shafts. The end goal will be 3/4" longer than standard which is set on Bridgestone's site for J33's

Specifications

IronLoftLieLengthS/WOffset
218°59°39.25"D33.2 mm
321°60°38.75"D33.0 mm
424°61°38.25"D32.8 mm
527°62°37.75"D32.6 mm
631°62.5°37.25"D32.4 mm
735°63°36.75"D32.2 mm
839°63.5°36.25"D32.0 mm
943°64°35.75"D31.8 mm
PW47°64.5°35.25"D31.6 mm

To my understanding, adding a 1/2" inch to a club will mean they will sit about 1* flat at address, which I'm good with. I may consider having them bent 1* strong eventually, but that won't be a part of this.. I just wanted to document the process for anyone considering doing some reshafting at home.

The Goods

In order to get this done, I had to pick up the following pieces of equipment -- I'm basically going from scratch on a lot:

- Four shaft extensions - both sides can be used, so four extensions = 8 shafts (Golf Galaxy, GolfSmith, etc)
- hacksaw to cut extensions (home depot, Lowes)
- Mitre board in order to cut the shafts dead straight (Home Depot, Lowes)
- Sand paper + screwdriver (I'd prefer a wire brush but couldn't find one locally)
- heat gun (or torch, that's optional)
- epoxy (I'd avoid the quick set personally)
- ferrules (cell-parts is an awesome option)
- work gloves

Removing the Old Shafts