Decision making does it affect your score?

Trout Bum

Regional Rival
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
I've been trying to think about my game and when better decision making came into play and my scores started coming down and I think it was about 7 years ago. I just started playing the fairways and greens game, sometimes I would hit irons off the tee and my goal was to hit every fairway in a round, once I did that it was to hit every green in regulation, then 2 putts every green and so on.

Does bad decision making contribute to your higher scores? If so, how come we don't change it? We can.

Without a doubt for me. The single biggest change in my golf game came when I started looking more closely at course management.

I think poor execution is what contributes to high scores. But this is a direct result of poor decision making. I don't try shots I can't hit. If it's not pulled of its do to a poorly executed swing.

I have always played the game aggressively.
220 to a green surrounded by water, no problem.
A 1'x2' gap between tree branches, I can do that.
High flop over a bunker(I won't mention the house with a glass wall straight in front of me), I can hit that better than Phil.

BUT in reality, 9/10 I fail those shots.

One of my big goals for next year is to get better at Course Management.

I've been trying to think about my game and when better decision making came into play and my scores started coming down and I think it was about 7 years ago. I just started playing the fairways and greens game, sometimes I would hit irons off the tee and my goal was to hit every fairway in a round, once I did that it was to hit every green in regulation, then 2 putts every green and so on.

Does bad decision making contribute to your higher scores? If so, how come we don't change it? We can.