Practicing with a blade

Perkins Rooster

Reaction score
Handicap
10.1 RCGA
Has anyone bought a demo blade to practice with? The logic being that if you work with a club that's hard to hit and gives lots of feedback it should improve ball striking with your regular club (assuming you don't game blades right now).

Just throwing it out there...

I only believe in practicing with a club I play with. Just my thoughts, but I like to practice and work with my regular distances, ball flights, balance, weighting and leading edge of the club I will use in play.

I have been playing blades since I started playing 50 years ago. Never thought much about bigger club faces, offset clubs, whatever. Started with wood woods and only changed because they quit making them and went to steel and titanium. Never been better than a 8 or 9 handicap and the only true change came with the hybrid clubs and milled faced putters. I guess the concept might work for some people, like the club that "breaks" if you swing path is off or something like that. I get great feedback from my irons if I hit them bad because misses end up out of play or in big trouble. Never really gave muchthought about oversized or midsized clubs.

in my opinion it will help........

in other sports the same method of training is used whether it's hitting a smaller target in boxing or smaller balls in football.

i also believe practise swinging with a heavier club(2 clubs) helps give a better feel to your swing and help with a faster clubhead speed.

I thinking practicing with a club that inspires confidence will improve your game. If it's a blade so be it however I would definitely myself be working with a club that builds and not destroys my confidence on the golf course.