US Amateur Qualifier

Dan McClellan

Reaction score
Handicap
On July 31, I'm playing in a qualifier for the US Amateur. I'd like to start a thread that I can use to record some of the things I'm doing to prepare and hopefully get some feedback and encouragement. The qualifier is at the Jack Niklaus-designed Painted Valley, at Promontory Ranch Club, just outside of Park City, Utah. The course will play to 7,674 that day and we play two rounds. I tee off at 8:39 am and 2:09 pm.

I just started playing golf again this season about six weeks ago. In high school I was a scratch golfer, but after one semester in college I pretty much stopped playing golf. For over ten years I played maybe two or three times a year. In July of 2010 I finished up a master's degree in the UK and my family and I traveled around a bit, spending part of our time in St Andrews. It happened to be the week before the Open, and my brother paid for us to play golf three of those days. The Old Course was off limits, but we played the Eden Course and the New Course (see some of our shenanigans here and here). By the end of that week I had been bitten by the golf bug again. I didn't have the chance to play much after getting back to the states, but last year I joined a local club and got to play for a few months. We moved in May and I've just started playing again this year. I thought I would focus on improving my game and get involved in some competitive rounds to gauge how well I do and see if I should commit to pursuing this more seriously.