"Pros" at the range

Centre

Phil mark
Reaction score
Handicap
myself
A little background on my swing.. I have a tendency to open the club face A LOT, lean forward, and drop my front shoulder during my back swing which causes me to slice and shank. I just started taking lessons from a new teacher and it turns all of that is a result of some stuff the idiot I took a few lessons from last summer when i started playing had me doing (thats another story). After only 2 lessons, I'm hitting the ball better than i thought imaginable (as long as I don't slip into old habits). Sorry for the intro, I just wanted to the point out that I'm trying to work on specific things at the range that I know work when i do them right. Here's the actual point...

So, I'm at the range last weekend, take my first swing, and shank a ball. Line up another and another shank. So I stop for a minute to take a couple slow back swings and concentrate on what I know I'm doing wrong.

At this point, this older guy comes walking down from a few stalls over and leans on the wall of the stall i'm in and starts staring at me. I take another swing but now I'm only thinking about what this guy's deal is and shank it worse than before.

Now he starts going on about what i need to do to fix the shanks. I politely thank him for his help and tell him that I'm working on something. But he doesnt leave. so... another shank. He tells me that he teaches for a living and i need to listen to him and do exactly what he says. Again I politely decline. This goes on for 5-10 minutes and he just won't leave. After politely declining for the 5th time, I'm irate and tell him that he needs to go back where he came from and leave me the hell alone. He has the nerve to get pissed at me and lay down some rant as he walks away.

My whole range session was shot at that point and i dont think i hit a good shot the whole time because i was furious. Luckily, I actually had time to go back that night and had a great session.