9I's Lesson Journal

9-Iron Man

Exciting Times
Reaction score
Handicap
High
Today (Feb 11, 2012) marked my first lesson. Before I get into it, I'll go say a little about me, my game, and my goals for the future, short and long term.

About Me
I'm 26 and I've been golfing "seriously" since July 2009. I put seriously in quotations because this was the point I started and actually could hit the ball. I dabbled in golf for many years, but always fought a HUGE slice off the tee. Because of this, I never really played very often. But in the summer of 2009, I received a few helpful tips that allowed me to actually start hitting the ball straight. I still fought the slice, but I could actually get the ball in play so I could progress off the first tee. I started playing more and by spring 2010, I was hooked. Coincidentally, spring 2010 is when I joined THP and after many months of lurking. I played more and more and ended up playing almost once a week. There is a par 3 course not too far from my parent's place that we would frequent. Good prices and a good place to practice. My game slowly got a little better as the summer progressed but then something happened, the wheels fell off and I was struggling again. Unfortunately, it happened while at the THP Fall Outing at PGA National. Winter came not too long after and my swing went into winter mode. I started back up again in March 2011 with some testing for the Rescue 11 for THP but I was still plagued with my bad swing.

And that is how things stayed for 2011. I got married and bought a house and never felt I had the time to really do anything about my swing. This lead to many frustrations on and off the course to the point where I just wanted to quit. That was late fall 2011. At this point, I took a self imposed hiatus from golf and THP and just tried not to think of it.