Beginner From the Suburbs of Philly

JTrix

Reaction score
Handicap
Bacon
Hello everyone. I'm just starting to add golf to my list of hobbies so I'm completely new to this. I have got myself a set of used clubs and been hitting at the driving range. Also taking a few lessons to learn the basic biomechanics of my swing in hopes that I don't gain any bad habits from the get go. I hope to learn a lot from you.

By the way, one quick question- how would you guys determine when you're ready to play at a course when you are new to golf? A friend of mine says I'm ready now but I have no consistency yet and I really don't want to hold up golf groups behind me. Any tips you guys?

Cheers

Welcome to THP, JTrix!!!

To answer your questions: I have been playing for over 25 years and I am still not ready to play on a course, but I do it anyway. Go have fun and learn the game is what I say.

I would say for your first few rounds dont even keep score, it will only frustrate you and might lead you give up. Just try and make as good shots as you can and enjoy the round. Dont be afriad to get out there everyones starts somewhere. If you are on stroke 10 on a hole just pick up and move on the next one to not hold up the groups behind hence the not keeping score. You really just want to get a feal for the stratagy involved in getting around the holes. But most importantly have fun its like you said a hobby and Welcome to the forum!!

Welcome to THP.
Determining when you are ready comes with confidence. Are you ready to hit the course and be golfing in front of others?
One suggestion that is never bad is checking out Executive courses and/or Par 3 courses. It will give you the ability to play golf rather than hit balls, and take full swings, without the need for doing it at any huge distance.