The Ultimate Golf Event Period - The 2014 Morgan Cup - #THPMC

I have a question for everyone, old and new. What has been different about this event prep vs other events you may have played in.

Its unlike anything I have ever done. This is my first time playing any sort of competitive golf so its all new to me. I dont really have any experience to draw on so I am relying on people that do have that experience for advice. As other people have said, practice with a purpose. Going to the range with a certain club in mind and working on that. I stopped bringing my bag with me. I just bring what I want to use. Going to the course specifically to do short game work. Just spending 2 hours chipping and putting. Getting myself in the best shape I can so that I can be ready physically and mentally in July. It is very time consuming and my wife has been absolutely awesome but having a 2 year old is also tough. I feel bad spending so much time away from her but I know there is a means to an end. Come July, there is absolutely no question in my mind, I will be the best golfer I have ever been and it wont even be close.

I have a question for everyone, old and new. What has been different about this event prep vs other events you may have played in.

I've never played in anything like this before so there really isn't anything I can say there in comparisons to others.

What I can say is that the Morgan Cup has caused me to finally truly prep rather than to just play a lot of golf. I'm getting lessons instead of relying on what I naturally have as far as coordination and athleticism. I'm thinking my way around the course now and realizing how to play to eliminate certain things. I'm trusting int he work that I'm foing enough to actually TRY and score rather than just playing to not eff up all the time. Most of all though, I'm just seeing what I can honestly get up to in this crazy game of golf.